“This Little Tax Deduction is Paying Divine Dividends”

Image

I am remembering my father today and here’s why…

A few years back when I was very ill, I recall a conversation with my father where I shared my fear and frustration with all the needles and general yuckiness of what I was facing. I even said that I wasn’t going to do it and just let “nature” take its course. His response was swift and to the point. Dad said “Karen, you have no options. And besides, many years ago, I made an investment in you and I haven’t received the proper return on my investment.”. In spite of my supreme fear of needles…I forged on and I’m here today. But I never settled into being stuck and still break out in a cold sweat at the sight of a needle and throw up in my mouth a bit.

Dad wasn’t a “warm and fuzzy” person, but more amused by life and ready with a wry comment. He had a more scientific mind as he was an Engineer. For the longest time as a child, I thought he drove a train.

Anyway, little did I know at the time, but Dad was in the early stages of cancer…and would eventually succumb to the ravages of Leukemia.

I thought about Dad’s comment the other day as I was “schlepping” a heavy bed frame into the house from the garage to assemble in the guest bedroom. Next were the cumbersome box springs and mattress. It occurred to me that I was, in fact, a return on his investment….

And now, as my mother faces Mitzi the Wonder Dog’s renal failure and is verklempt in her concern and grief, I am assigned with the task of administering fluids under this little sick dog’s skin everyday—with a needle.

And I think “Many returns to you, Daddy.”

Leave a Reply

